Comment: US | THEM
back
Comment: US | THEM

On the Art of Guangci and Xiang Jing
Gao Shiming

“Who are We?”

The philosopher Richard Rorty asks us an extremely acute question. For Rorty, the question “Who are we?” is entirely distinct from the question “What is a person?” The latter is a standard metaphysical question, where the former is an entirely political question. The basic question of politics is indeed the difference between “us” and “them.” Of course we, living in poor times, do not need to divide people so sharply as politicians do. And yet we cannot stop uttering the word: “We … ”

For the iconoclastic modernists, “we” hides on all sides of “I.” It is both the soil for the individual, and a way of burying the self in a crowd. For Guangci, “we” actually exists in the space below the leaders waving their hands from the Tian’anmen rostrum. The crowd’s impulse, felt by all those on the square, is precisely what cultural anthropologists refer to as “communitas.” “We” structures a complete body, and as an object of desire it refers to a prescribed return to an imagined collective, and to the self-subordination of the subject (Foucault explained his concept of the subject with reference to the linguistic undertones of subordination or subjection that the word carries), and the fervor amidst the failure in the self’s move toward unity.

Guangci: Collective Image – Monumentality – Immortality

There is a certain pathos of “collectivism” that runs through China’s art history between the 1950s and the late 1980s. Even if the artistic practice of the 1980s was in reaction and reform to the ideology of the previous thirty years, still in the works and texts of this period, the aura of totalitarianism shines throughout as overarching cultural narratives vie for greatness, and atop them floats the “specter of collectivism.” In the epistemological structures of the artistic reforms of the 1980s, there still exists deeply held thought patterns pertaining to totality and collectivity. Political movements, manifestos, and utopias are always the most moving of affairs. In the works of Guangci’s generation, the ideology of collectivism has been thoroughly undone, or rather, transmogrified. As someone who entered the art world as a young artist in the 1980s, Guangci’s works have always been concerned with this central question of collective image. Over many years, his work can be seen as creating imagery for “us.” As carriers of revolution, class symbols, and emblems of the people, images of workers-peasants-soldiers had lost their power by the 1990s. For Guangci, these are but symbols of the collective that can be summarily used and consumed, a sort of historical readymade object.

In recent years, Guangci has repeatedly used images of monuments culled from modern Chinese history in his work. From standard heroic sculptures of Mao to every sort of worker-peasant-soldier sculptures, all offer Guangci a space for appropriation, distortion, and subversion. In the middle of the twentieth century, these images were erected in public squares all across China, becoming an integral part of Chinese revolutionary culture, a testimony to people’s memory and evidence of history. We must understand that Guangci’s own life was not drastically influenced by the events of the Cultural Revolution, and so any connections between him and the vague history of the Cultural Revolution exist only in these suspicious images and vestiges. As he was growing up, society began to develop, and these forms and traces gradually grew more and more ambiguous. They still exist on public squares around the country, but the ideals behind them have long ceased to exist. And yet the period of history which they carry and express is precisely that which people wish to delete from their memory. These are bodies now devoid of life and power, still floating on the scene of contemporary urban life, like actors that have not retreated from a stage even though their performance is long over. The next performance has already begun, and still they have not exited. They awkwardly sit in every corner of the city (if they have not been torn down already) like tourists who have forgotten their destination, or suitcases resting forlorn on a train platform. In the mid-1990s, Guangci turned his eye toward these public icons that have lost their public nature, these now-empty historical trajectories, these remains that have since been obliterated from social life.

Speaking more accurately, what Guangci aims to create is a series of “anti-monuments.” In his work “2002 AD,” the image of Mao appears not as a great, heroic monument, but rather, returned to an ordinary life-sized object. Covered in plaster, it becomes vague and uncertain. This handling makes Mao appear even more ambiguous, almost mass-produced, becoming a quantifiably random product. The concept of the “anti-monument” resonates with doubt and subversions of the “immortal.” In works such as “Democracy Box” and “Monument Column” and in the large-scale installation, “Chinese Century Train,” Guangci uses translucent resin to produce a series of “Mao-style” crystal coffins, in which he inserts human figures of different colors. This symbol of “immortality” becomes a cheap sitcom-style prop. Around 2004, Guangci produced a series of massive revolutionary monuments, replacing the customary granite with shiny stainless steel. This work successfully plays on the Chinese homophone “buxiu” which means both “immortality” and “stainless” as a way of ridiculing the unattainable ideal of immortality. Stainless steel, as a commercial commodity that had not yet come into use during the Maoist era, has now become a staple of lowbrow public art. Since the 1980s, public sculptures in stainless steel have been produced at surprising proportions, and have gradually swallowed up the spaces formerly allotted to monuments. These new sculptures are replacements for the revolutionary monuments of the past, but like their predecessors, they are also monuments to a sort of “pseudo-public.” When the forms of revolutionary monuments meet the materiality of stainless steel, the resulting strange combination is ahistorical, and from a certain standpoint, this is the major strand of thinking behind China’s “political pop” art. Importantly, the special characteristics of stainless steel transmutes abstract ideas of class into a hollow monument, bright and beautiful, as if forming a complex mirror which absorbs the everyday living environment whole cloth, mutating it to fit the form of the revolutionary.

Guangci has taken readymade images from history and incorporated them into the fabric of contemporary everyday life. This is a kind of dislocation, or to use Guangci’s own words, a “positioning.” Guangci has said: “Positioning can make the meaningful meaningless, and the meaningless meaningful … the joys and tragedies encountered by monumental sculpture have largely to do with mistakes in positioning.” In this process of “positioning,” historical ready-mades are “displaced,” and a new set of meanings and emotions is produced. This is a sort of dry, multivalent humor.

In Guangci’s work, a strategy that runs parallel to “displacement” is replication. Wu Shanzhuan has said that “Replication is Power,” and Guangci has experienced this firsthand. Many of his works together form a replicated group, an array of commercial goods. For him, “replication” speaks to the impossibility of the modernist “individual” in Chinese history, and yet in the current Chinese cultural climate, it has become a consumer strategy. This consumerism is a strategy of shattered sublimation and absolutism, a perfect fusion of utopianism with commodity fetishism.

THEM

For Xiang Jing, “we” is simply the vague existence of a group of undefined individuals. As a woman, Xiang Jing has never consciously styled herself a feminist. She does not belong to the belligerent collective “we” of sexual politics. For her, those who constantly refer to “we” are in fact a “they” comprised of infinite individual “shes.” This can all be seen as a resistance to the ill-intentioned ideological “we” amidst which we live. “We” is a carrier of ideology, and any ideology places the creation of a like-minded “we” among its goals. The artist Xiang Jing is like a militiawoman harboring dark designs against ideology. For her, the “we” does not exist, and her works manifest a vivid, living individual, wherein each individual is itself an absolute miracle. Miracles are by their nature singular, and the so-called “we” is in fact merely a Rubik’s cube waiting to be disassembled, an expired check, a sublime specter in an ideological dreamscape.

Expressing the notion of “they” is a refusal of identity. Identity and difference are two sides of the same coin. Semantic meaning derives from differentiation with other words in a linguistic system, just as numerical sequence implies a purely external structure of meanings. One is one simply because it is not two or three, and its meaning is constructed entirely within such a system of differences. When we look at the other side of the coin, we see a process at work in which such external differences are internalized, forming what we call “identity.” Identity includes seemingly contradictory notions such as distinction and collectivity, and is actually directed at the indefinite collective protections faced by the individual. Moreover, what appears on the surface as public, collective identity is actually the result of an unending project of drawing boundaries. In our rapidly privatizing, individualizing, mediatizing, and globalizing world, as Jock Young says, “Precisely because the public has dissolved, identity politics was created.”

In a moment of rampant “identity politics,” this notion of identity as “recognition” (rentong) carries a critical power that has long ago been extinguished, transformed into a discursive tool of ideology. Sexual politics were long ago assimilated into a collective power struggle encapsulated by words like “difference” and “otherness.” In this sense, to express “them” implies a resonance with and insistence on “otherness.” But how to preserve the otherness of the other? How to maintain the other as other? This is a question being hotly debated right now by intellectuals around the world.

Compared to “we,” “they” are a distant, estranged people. “They” are not a collective that Xiang Jing is eager to identify. As Zygmunt Bauman says, the notion of the public implies not only dependence, but also power. The sensibility conveyed in her work is neither cold nor critical, but rather sort of warmly distant. She conveys a sentiment of partial knowing, sculpting a “they” comprised of familiar strangers, constantly present all around us.

 

XIANG JING: “EVERYONE,” “EACH ONE,” “ANYONE”

Xiang Jing’s sculptures are not based on certain individuals, and her practice is not based on specific objects, but rather it manifests the vague existence of a group of uncertain individuals. Her works are about “them,” but this “them” is composed of infinite individuals hidden all around us. It is at once “everyone,” “each one,” and “anyone.”

“Everyone” depends on the weakness of the individual. It is backed by the grand notion of a shared humanity which ensures the identity of every individual as a person.

“Each one” refers to all possible people, the “certain person” that everyone believes him or herself to be.

“Anyone” is any individual at all, the negative reflection of the individualist’s affirmation of the self. However, anyone has the power to become another, and the power to refuse to become himself.

“Everyone” is a totalitarian concept, while “each one” is the subject of democracy. A society in which “everyone” is happy is a society in which “each one” is unhappy. “Anyone” intervenes between the two. “Anyone” refers to “everyone,” but also conveys a sense of “each one.” The shared attributes of the three symbolize a kind of degradation, the survival of the concept of “das Man.”

“Das Man” or “ordinary man” is not a certain individual, but a site into which each person can disappear. Everyone is a collective entity, where “das Man” is an ordinary person, or a mass of people. The concept of “das Man” refers to the ways in which each person is like each other person, and in that way it is similar to “everyone” and “anyone.” This is called “uneigenlichkeit,” a kind of unreal existence. “Ordinary man” involves the ordinary state of man, an existence one constantly tries to escape but can never shed off. In daily life, we and they often exist as ordinary man, particularly in a world where “everyone,” “each one” and “anyone” coexists.

Xiang Jing’s sculptures all depict individuals from everyday life. She devotes herself to creating situations, to sculpting vivid scenes and psychological spaces. It is an archetypal group culled from the urban collective, like a group of shots taken from Xiang Jing’s photography in which mountains of photo albums serve to give physical form to scenes. Facing these silent, silenced sculptures, we suddenly find ourselves outside during a hot noontime, a somber dusk, an anxious and sleepless midnight, the moment at which the ash drops, a lost moment before a mirror … each sculpture carries the traces of its specific moment, and these moments give a specific shape to the black box of time. This however does not imply some promise of eternal time - that is the desire of the monument - as Xiang Jing’s sculptures are but certain “moments,” and the moving flavors and circumstances that these moments imply.

Xiang Jing’s sculptures work best in groups. Walking among a group of these sculptures is like entering into a world petrified in a single moment. In that split second, no one is able to escape the glance or curse of Medusa. Rather, Xiang Jing sculpts something that looks not like the deathly solemn gray and white sculptures of one’s impressions, but rather something bright and colorful, happy and light, in a world that is itself already tough and heavy.

Xiang Jing’s sculptures are light, and this aspect is owed to the scene-settings behind them, as well as their intentional and controlled exaggeration. However, this graceful quality exists in a state of undeclared passion, an almost theatrical happiness. Milan Kundera first raised this notion of “lightness.” For Kundera, the heaviness of life lies in coercion, the sorts of ideologies that bind us and symptomatic sorts of resistance to these ideologies. The Unbearable Lightness of Being tells us that happiness can be shattered in a single moment, showing suddenly its unbearably heavy state. For Xiang Jing, heaviness comes first from the hardness and irrefutability of the living world. The world functions like a wall that forces its way in front of us, creating not only a logistical obstacle but spiritual damage. Therefore Xiang Jing uses sculpture, the heaviest method by which to capture the happiness of daily life, the moments that appear a bit absurd but then become a relaxed sociological portrait. Those laughing, bored, unoccupied, careless images, those crying women and smoking men all appear as still photos taken from a boring soap opera.

No matter when or where, she, he, and they are the uncertain “everyone,” “anyone,” or “each one.” Among the crowds of people, these nameless, healthy puppets appear as forgotten materials, living anonymously together. People come and go, bustling with activity. In the anxious vessel that is time, shadows of memory and illusion accumulate, but each is nothing more than a mistaken brushstroke in a painting, a scar on a pink hand, a blind spot on a sheet of broken glass.

 

She&I
CHINASQUARE

我們·她們

對于廣慈與向京的一種解讀

我們

“我們是誰?”

哲學家羅蒂向我們提出了一個極為尖銳的問題。在羅蒂看來,對于“我們是誰”的追問,與問“人是什麽”全然不同,後者是個標准的形而上學問題,問“我們是 誰”,則是個徹頭徹尾的政治問題。政治學的基本問題是區分“我們”和“他們”。當然,生活在貧乏日子裏的我們,不必像政治家那般把人群區分的壁壘分明。可 是,我們仍然要不斷地說出:“我們……”。

在遺世獨立的現代主義者們看來,“我們”就埋伏在“我”的前後左右,既是支撐個體的土地,又是淹沒自我的群氓。而對于廣慈來說,“我們”其實就是偉大領袖 在天安門城樓上揮手之間,廣場上所有人心頭浮現出的一種作為整體的衝動,文化人類學家們用communitas這一概念指稱的就是這種衝動。“我們”構成 了一個整體,作為一個欲望客體,它是向著一個想象的共同體的命定歸屬,指向主體的自我隸屬性(福柯揭示了subject的語義系統中與“主體”共生著的 “隸屬”關系),以及自我向著同一性的潰敗中的狂歡。

廣慈:集體形象—紀念碑—不朽

有一種“集體主義”的情念(pathos)始終貫穿在1950年代直到1980年代末的中國藝術史之中。盡管1980年代的當代藝術實踐似乎是對前30年 的意識形態的反動和革新,但是在這一時段的創作和寫作中,總體主義的靈光(aura)隨處閃爍,宏大的文化敘事比比皆是,而在這些宏大敘事的高原上,依然 遊蕩著“集體主義的幽靈”。1980年代的藝術革新者的意識結構中,依然存在著根深蒂固的總體化、整體論的思維模式,運動、宣言和烏托邦依舊是最動人的事 物。而在廣慈這代人的作品中,集體主義的“意底牢結”(ideology)被徹底打破了,或者說,它被轉義了。作為1980年代末期進入當代藝術圈的一位 青年藝術家,廣慈的作品始終圍繞著集體形象這一母題。多年以來,他的工作可以被看作是為“我們”造像。作為革命的載體、階級的符號、人民的象征物,那些工 農兵的形象在1990年代的文化情境中早已喪失了力量;在廣慈這裏,這一切只是一種可以被隨意引用和消費的集體圖像,一種曆史的現成品(見《太陽鳥》)。

在近年來的創作中,廣慈大量使用中國現代曆史上的紀念碑形象。從毛的典範式的領袖像,到各種工農兵造像,都成為廣慈挪用、篡改、顛覆的主題。在二十世紀中 葉,這些形象曾經聳立在中國各個城市的廣場上,它們是中國革命文化的一個重要組成部分,也是人民記憶的見證者和曆史證據。我們必須意識到,廣慈本人的生活 並沒有受到文革很大的影響,對于他來說,把他和文革這段模糊的曆史聯系起來的,只是這些形迹可疑的形象和遺迹。在他的成長年代,隨著社會的發展,這些形象 和遺迹逐漸變得暧昧起來,它們依舊聳立在中國各個城市的廣場上,但是加持其上的理念和理想早已經不複存在,而它們所承擔和表述的那段曆史恰恰是人們希望從 記憶中抹去的。它們是喪失了生命和力量的軀殼,在當代都市的生活現場中,它們仿佛是一場劇目突然終止後未及退場的演員,下一場劇目已經開始,它們卻尚未離 開。它們尴尬地呆在城市的各個地點(如果還未被拆除的話),就像忘記了目的地的旅客,被遺落在月台上的旅行箱。1990年代中期,廣慈把視線重新投向這些 喪失了公共性的公共形象,它們是一些已經空洞了的曆史線索,社會生活中被磨滅的遺迹。

准確地說,廣慈所力圖塑造的,是一系列“反紀念碑”。在他的作品《公元2002》中,毛的塑像不再是高大雄偉的豐碑,它們被還原為常人的比例,又被石膏流 質所覆蓋,以至于面目模糊。這些處理使毛的形象愈加暧昧,它們甚至被批量生産,成為可以被量化的帶有偶發性的産品。“反紀念碑”聯系著的是對于“不朽”的 質疑和顛覆。在《民主箱》、《紀念柱》以及大型裝置作品《中國世紀列車》中,廣慈用半透明的樹脂制作了一系列“毛式”水晶棺,其中放置著各色人等,這“不 朽”的象征物,成為一幕幕情境喜劇中的廉價的道具。2004年左右,廣慈制作了一系列巨大的革命紀念碑,他把凝重的花崗岩材料置換為亮閃閃的不鏽鋼,這不 僅是為了用“不朽-不鏽”之間的諧音來揶揄“不朽”這一不可實現的理想。不鏽鋼作為毛時代還未曾使用在雕塑中的商業化材質,在今天已經成為媚俗低劣的公共 藝術的標准材料。1980年代以來,這些不鏽鋼制作的體量巨大的公共雕塑,逐漸蠶食著以往那些紀念碑的領地,它們是革命紀念碑的空間上的替代物,但與後者 一樣,它們也都是某種“僞公共性”的紀念物。革命紀念碑加上不鏽鋼材料,這種古怪的搭配是非曆史性的,從某種意義上說,這是中國“政治波普”的另一條線 索。重要的是,不鏽鋼的材料特性把抽象的階級群像轉化成了空虛的紀念碑,它們光鮮漂亮,如同組合複雜的鏡子,將周圍的日常生活場景吸納入自身,並且在革命 者形體的表面改編、變異。

廣慈把曆史的現成圖像引用入當代日常生活的場景之中,這是一種dislocation(去離原位),用廣慈自己的話說,就是“放置”。廣慈曾經說過:“放 置可以使意義失去意義,使無意義可能成為有意義……那些原本為了喚起紀念的塑像所遭受的大悲大喜,其實都是放置犯的錯”。在這個“放置”的過程中,曆史的 現成品“去離原位”,某種新的意義和情緒産生了——那是一種幹澀的滑稽,五味雜陳的幽默。

在廣慈的工作中,與“放置”並行的策略,是複制。吳山專說“複制就是力量”,廣慈對此有會于心。他的衆多作品構成了一個可複制的群落,一個商業社會的“物 陣”。對他來說,“複制”揭示了現代主義“個體”在中國曆史中的不可能性。在集權主義時代,重複可以成為一種被不斷加持的權威力量,但是在當代中國的文化 氛圍中,卻成為一種消費主義的策略,這種消費主義,是一種粉碎崇高和絕對之物的策略,是烏托邦與拜物教的完美結合。

她們

對向京來說,“我們”只是一群不確切個體的模糊存在。作為女性,向京從未把自己刻意打造為女性主義者。她並不隸屬于性別政治的充滿鬥爭性的“我們”,對她 來說,那些不斷說出“我們”的人們,恰恰是由無數個體的“她”所組成的“她們”。這一切都可以被視為對于“我們”身處其中的意識形態的不懷好意的抵抗。 “我們”是意識形態的載體,任何意識形態都是為了制造出相應的“我們”。而藝術家向京就如同一位對意識形態心懷叵測的個體主義民兵。在她那裏,“我們”是 不存在的,她的作品所呈現的是一個鮮活的生命個體,而每一個體的存在都是一個絕對的奇迹。奇迹在其本質上是一次性發生的,而所謂“我們”,只是一個有待拆 解的魔方,一張過期的支票,一個意識形態夢境中的崇高的幽靈。

標示出“她們”,是對認同的拒絕。認同(identity)和差異(difference)是一個硬幣的兩面。語詞的意義建構是來自它在語言系統中與其他 詞語的區分,正如數字序列中存在著一個純粹外在的意義結構。1之所以是1,只是因為它不是2或3,1的意義就是在這樣的差異化系統之中被建構起來。當我們 去看硬幣的另一面的時候,就會有一個把經由外在關系建立起來的差異性意義(difference)內在化的過程,這就是我們說的“identity”。身 份認同包含著差異(與衆不同)和同一(集體性)兩個矛盾著的方面,它其實是針對個體面臨的不確定性的集體性保障,並且,表面上共同的、集體的身份認同,是 永遠完成不了的邊界劃定所産生的後果與影響。在我們這個迅速被私人化、個體化、媒介化和全球化的世界上,正如Jock Young所說的:“正是因為共同體瓦解了,身份認同才被創造出來”。

在“身份政治”大行其道的今天,“認同”原本具有的批判性力量早已消磨殆盡,轉而成為一種意識形態的話語工具,性別政治早已把“差異”和“它性”整合在了 共同體的權力鬥爭之中。在這個意義上,標示出“她們”,是對它者的召喚和對“它性”的堅持。而如何保持它者的它性?如何把它者始終保持為它者?這正是目前 國際知識界迫切探討的問題。

相對于“我們”,“她們”是某些疏離的、陌生的人們。“她們”並不是向京急于認同的共同體——Zygmunt Bauman說,共同體不但意味著信賴,還意味著權力。向京作品中流落出的氣息既不是冷漠的,也不是批判性的,而是一種溫暖的疏離。她所呈現的,是某種似 曾相識的意味;她所塑造出的,是“她們”,那些悠長時光中隨處可見的熟悉的陌生人。

向京:“所有人”、“每個人”與“任何人”

向京的雕塑並非根源于確定的某人,她的制像行為並沒有特定的對象,卻呈現出一群不確切個體的模糊存在。她的作品是關于“她們”的,而組成“她們”的,是隱藏在我們周遭的無數個體,是“所有人”、“每個人”與“任何人”。

“所有人” 是個體脆弱時分的依托。“所有人”有關于人類,這個全稱大詞,是支撐著個體生存並且擔保著“人”這一物種的衆人,卻又從無其人。

“每個人” 則是一切可能的人,是人人都自以為是的那個“某人”。

“任何人” 是無論哪個人,它是個人主義者的否定式的反身稱謂。然而,任何人都有權成為他人,任何人也都有權拒絕成為自己。

“所有人”是極權主義的理念,“每個人”是民主的主體,一個所有人都幸福的社會是每個人的不幸。“任何人”介乎二者之間。“任何人”指向“所有人”,也通達“每個人”。“任何人”與“所有人”、“每個人”共同標志了一種沈淪,一種面向das Man(常人)的生存。

Das man 並非某一特定的他人,而是每個人消散于其中的所在。所有人是聚集的群體,常人則是一般人、衆人。常人是指:每個人都和其他人一樣,都與所有人、任何人並無 二致。這就是Uneigentlichkeit,一種非本真的存在。常人是人之常情,是個體時刻准備逃離又永遠揮之不去的存在。日常生活中,我們和他們往 往作為常人而生存,這時存在在世界上的,就是任何人、每個人和所有人。

向京塑造的大都是日常生活中的個人。她致力于情境的營造,致力于雕塑現場感和心理空間的建構。那是一種都市人群的類型化場景,如同向京所鍾愛的攝影中的一 組組鏡頭,堆積如山的相冊中某些實體化了的現場。面對這些無聲的靜止的塑像,我們的體驗在不自覺中被引入某個烈日下煩躁的中午、沈悶無聊的黃昏、焦灼不眠 的午夜、煙灰跌落的瞬間、對鏡失神的片刻……每個塑像都帶出了它的現身時刻,那些時刻使時間的黑匣子擁有了特定的形狀。不過這並非意味著瞬間永恒之類的許 諾——那是紀念碑的追求——向京雕塑中凝固的只是若幹“片刻”,只是這些片刻所開啓的動人氣息和情境。

向京的雕塑適合群居。置身于相互指引著的群像中,如同面對一個刹那間凝固石化的世界——在這個刹那,沒有人能夠逃脫美杜莎的目光與詛咒。然而,向京所塑造 的,卻不是人們印象中那些肅穆的散發著死亡氣味的灰白石像,他們色彩斑斓,他們快樂而輕盈,當日常世界本身已是如此堅硬而沈重。

向京的雕塑是輕盈的,這一方面是由于它的場景化,另一方面來自其刻意而又克制的誇張。但是,此輕盈的真正實質卻在于一種不表態的激情、一種喜劇般的快樂。 米蘭·昆德拉最先討論了這種“輕”。對昆德拉來說,生命的沈重主要在于威迫,那種將我們緊緊捆綁著的意識形態以及同樣屬于這一意識形態的強迫症式的反抗。 《生命中不能承受之輕》告訴我們,我們生活中因其輕快而珍重的一切,于須臾之間都會顯示出其令人無法忍受的沈重的本相。就向京而言,沈重首先來自生活世界 本身的堅硬與確鑿。世界如同一面逼迫到我們面前的牆壁,它造成的不僅僅是禁锢,而且是一種質感上的傷害。于是,向京用雕塑這最為沈重的方式捕捉著日常世界 中輕快的衆生相,那些略顯荒誕的瞬間形象構成了一份當代生活的輕松的社會學肖像報告。那些傻笑的、發呆的、無所事事的、吊兒郎當的形象,那些無論何時何地 必有的哭泣的女人、抽煙的男人,如同一場冗長乏味的肥皂劇中隨處可見的劇照。

無論何時何地,她、他和他們都是無從確定的“所有人”、“任何人”或者“每個人”。人群中,這衆多的無名氏,這些健康的木偶,忘記失主的失物,他們彼此匿 名地生活。人來人往,熙熙攘攘。在歲月這憂傷的容器中,那一個個凝結著記憶與幻想的身影,不過是,一幅畫中錯誤的筆觸,玫瑰色掌心裏的一道疤痕,破碎玻璃 體中的一個盲點。

 

高士明

中國美術學院副教授

展示文化研究中心主任

Associate professor, Department of Art History

Director, Centre of Visual Culture Research

China Academy of Art

 

她&我
CHINASQUARE